Hyaluronic Acid

Hello adoring fans.

Back at it again!

Today I’d like to talk about somewhat of a buzz word: hyaluronic acid. Recently at work I was asked to make a spread for the Trend Table, and I chose to focus on hyaluronic acid. I did a bit of research there and since I have done even more, as I learn more and more about it.

The basics.

Hyaluronic acid, sometimes written as Sodium hyaluronate, is a naturally occurring acid that acts as a lubricant in our joints. When people hear acid they are usually thinking of something strong and astringent, but this isn’t like that at all.

A prescription for hyaluronic acid (in the form of a pill) is not uncommon for people with joint pain. But other than that, HA can be found in lip balms, eye drops, and, of course, skin care.

So, HA is found in the joints, the eye-sockets, and the skin. But why is it in skin care if it’s a lubricant for joints? I mean, that’s weird.

Let me explain,

One of HAs many great qualities is that part of it’s job in lubrication is producing collagen and retaining moisture. Two GREAT things for the skin!

So, researchers started testing it out and seeing what all the benefits would be for skin care.

Turns out that HA can hold 1,000 times it’s weight in water, and it retains the water in the moisture barrier of the skin.

The moisture barrier is one of the outermost layers of the skin, and it is what protects the skin against the environment. When the moisture barrier is thin and fragile (dry) anything can penetrate the skins surface. This leads to problems like acne, dryness, oiliness, oversized pores, whiteheads/blackheads, discoloration, premature aging, and dullness.

HA comes in (in the form of your serum, moisturizer, what have you) and soaks into the skin and sticks there, plumping the skin up and not allowing any moisture to escape.

A common question that I receive about this is why would you need this unless you have extremely dry skin?

Well, wonderful question, but dry skin and dehydrated skin are two different things. It’s actually LIKELY that someone with oily skin has a damaged, thin, or fragile moisture barrier. The skin is producing more oils as a coping mechanism, to do it’s best to protect the skin. which coping mechanism your skin defaults to (whether it be producing extra oil or just drying out more) is based on genetics. The moisture barriers condition is based on environment. So, if someone says “my face is so oily, I need a light moisturizer or maybe no moisturizer at all.” No! Your skin is screaming out for some love and attention. A light moisturizer with hyaluronic acid will be just the thing for you!

 

With this new found information, I looked up all my moisturizers to see if they have hyaluronic acid.

My night cream from Fomula 10.0.6 (PM Perfecter) does not have it.

20170710_210921

My Perricone MD H2 Elemental Energy Hydrating Cloud Cream (not my favorite, but very expensive and was a gift), had it, and it was one of the first ingredients. This is an example of a cream that is very light, like a gel, but still packs a punch.

20170710_210905

My Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Milk also has it (not a surprise, Clinique is ALL about Hyaluronic acid these days). It is listed lower down as Sodium Hyaluronate.

20170710_210928

My Garnier SkinActive Ultra-Lift Anti-Wrinkle Firming Eye Cream also doesn’t have it. After looking at the ingredient list on this (which I found on their website, as I threw away the box).

My St. Ives Collagen Elastin Cream also does not have it.

My Formula 10.0.6 Picture Perfect Day Moisturizer does not have it, and I couldn’t find the (English) ingredients lists anywhere for my TonyMoly products (my Lemon Brightening Lotion and Green Tea Essence).

20170710_210751

And, I think I’ve talked about this before. My Smash Beauty Retinol Serum. I found this at TJ Maxx and usually wouldn’t have brought this kind of product from a brand I’ve never heard about, but I was impressed by the ingredient list. It does have it! Lower down, listed as Hyaluronic Acid.

In the future I’m going to try to use more products with hyaluronic acid. I think it is really helpful for anti-aging and for just helping my skin. I suggest that everyone add a product with hyaluronic acid to their routine.

 

I hope to do more posts on ingredients. What is good, what is bad, what some words mean. I’m really interested!

 

Also I apologize for not posting for a long time. I know, terrible! My family-in-law came in town for the week of the 4th at the same time I started at the new job. Working full time is very…full time. When I get home I just want to spend time with James when I get home, since our schedules don’t match up. Not to mention he got strep throat and has been out for a few days now.

BUT I’M BACK!!

(no promises)

BUT I HOPE

(I will try)

1498519151301

 

Leave a Reply

