Midsummer Empties

Hello everyone!

Happy August!

I’ve been waiting until the end of July to post about my empty products so far.

Maybe a kind of weird thing to post about, but I feel that after I’ve used a full product, then I can truly review it and decide whether I want to purchase it again or not.

SO, since the beginning of summer I’ve kept a basket in my linen closet for my empty beauty bottles, and I’ve stocked up a few since then. Let’s take a look and get started!

20170802_104043

Here’s the whole basket. It looks like a lot!! But truth be told I almost never buy anything full price, and a few of those things are birthday gifts from James. Shower products:

20170802_104149

First Botany Cosmeceuticals Pure 24K Gold Scrub

First of all, I don’t know what type of name “cosmeceuticals” is, and it took a while for me to type it down. This was a gift from James for my birthday, and as far as body scrubs go, I liked this one. It was a physical exfoliant and the exfoliants were pretty rough and big, much bigger than sugar. It was a beautiful gold color, but the problem was that rubbing it on my body, my hands became numb because the texture was so rough.

Olay Fresh Outlast Cooling White Strawberry and Mint Body Wash

Once again, don’t know what white strawberry is, but this was a pretty good body wash. I’m not picky about body washes and I think James actually picked it out, but we both agreed the smell was good.

Bliss SuperSized Grapefruit and Aloe Body Butter

This was also a gift from James, but I asked specifically for this one. It’s a very large but very expensive lotion. I think that size (which I cut in half to scrape out the last bits) is 29 or so dollars.

I’m not a fan of body butter but I was introduced to this by my exchange student in high school. It soaks in right away, is SUPER hydrating for my dinosaur skin legs and it smells AMAZING. I LOVE grapefruit smells! A little bit goes a long way. After every shower I would just soak my legs in it, and it just feels amazing. Whenever anyone asks for a lotion, I ALWAYS suggest this one!

Bath and Body Works Sparkling Lemonchello Shower Gel

This. Smells. So. Good. I’m not shy about telling literally everyone that my favorite scent is lemon. So when I went to BBW for their semi-annual sale, I was PRETTY upset to see that they are discontinuing this whole line. Not so upset to see that it was all 75% off. So I bought two of these, a lotion, and a spray. I’m on the second shower gel now and I just don’t know what I will do when I’m done with it.

Bath Products:

20170802_104208.jpg

Sweet Pea and Peony Candle

This was from the dollar shelves at target and I think it was actually a dollar. It smelled so good! I’m really sad that the wick was in such bad shape that it puckered out when there was still quite a bit of candle left. Oh well, I didn’t waste much money on it.

Fleur D’Extase Bath Bombs

This was nine bath bombs from James for my birthday as well. They all had different flavors like “lemongrass” and “vanilla” so of course I loved it. They were full of essential oils so they didn’t foam much but they made the bath feel silky smooth.

20170802_104306

Elf Hydrating Eye Cream

Eh, it was 8 dollars, and it was okay. Not too thick, didn’t smell like anything, I didn’t see any difference, felt like I was just putting a regular moisturizer on.

Perricone MD H2 Elemental Energy Hydrating Cloud Cream

You can just tell from the name that this product sucks. It’s from one of those overpriced “I am a doctor so I know skin” brands that relies solely on the letters “MD” to legitimize their entire brand. The first few times I wore it I broke out. I didn’t like the texture, it felt heavy even though it was cloud cream, and it was hard to layer things on top of it. I actually did stop using it for a while but decided to stick it out because I don’t like wasting product. It was a gratis gift from Ulta, so I didn’t pay the $80. I LITERALLY would never. for any product.

Smack Beauty Anti-Wrinkle Retinol Serum

This was a bust from the beginning and I knew it. I bought it for $4 at TJ Maxx, just to try it and because retinol products have a tendency to be expensive (not because retinol itself it expensive, it is actually very cheap, but they market it to older women with money). It burned the first time I put it on, which is very normal, but after that it LITERALLY had no effect on my skin. It was a clear gel form and I used it up fairly fast, even with only using it once a day.

TonyMoly ChokChok Green Tea Watery Essence

This was a good product, and I really liked it, though at times I felt like it was just a watery moisturizer. It smelled great, felt great, and I would like to think it helped with my acne. HOWEVER this product (which I got 60% off at Ulta) is being discontinued.

20170802_104240.jpg

Ah, last but not least, the ultimate ALL TIME winners (beside the Burt’s Bees product sry)

Thayers Witch Hazel Aloe Vera Formula Alcohol Free Rose Petal Toner

BANG!!!!! This stuff is amazing! Not astringant at all, helps with pore size and redness, super soothing, $10 at Target, lasts forever, did WONDERS on my skin as far as even-toneness and getting rid of acne. I LOVE it I want to buy it again (but won’t right now because I got the Clarifying Lotion from Clinique for free. More on that later. I like it? but it is 100% different than this toner).

Yes To Coconuts Hydrates and Restores Micellar Cleaning Water

Well, here’s the low down, kids. My body is really doing a number on me and my uterus decided to let the dogs out on my face, and I’ve been broken out for about a week. Doesn’t help that I’m having to try all these new foundations for work almost every day. I am constantly thinking back to the days when the Yes to Coconuts was doing me right and all my issues were about what lip/eye to wear that day. Now I’m using the Formula 10.0.6 one and I don’t like it nearly as much. Yes to Coconuts… take me back!

Burt’s Bees Cleansing Oil

Fail. I used a cleansing oil in Korea that was in a dark brown bottle, but I don’t remember who it was from or where it was from but I think it was Japanese and GIRL it changed my life. It was smooth, it foamed, it was gentle and oily enough to break down makeup but not too oily to be messy and never come off. That’s what I want. Not this! This was like straight up oil. Is it called Burt’s Bees Oil? No, it’s called Cleansing oil. Where is my cleanse? Where is my light suds? where is my smooth, clean, fresh feeling after using? NOT HERE.

Tony Moly Cream Foam Cleanser

I got two of these with two peeling lotions in a free GWP when I was in Korea and can you believe it?? I somehow just finished the second one. I think I used some other things in between and then rediscovered this. It is creamy, it is foamy, it feels amazing. Don’t leave it in a hot car because then it gets weird. But you can deal with it. It is a great product and it is sadly hard to find things like this here. Not a makeup remover, but a cream foamer. Not an acne product, but a cream foamer. Usually they are makeup removers or acne products, there’s not really much in between here.

Well that’s all folks!

Until next time!

-Michelle

Leave a Reply

